My CPD Critical Reflection

I started out this module with a mindset that what could we take away from this module because communication is such a broad knowledge. However, thirteen weeks with Brad changed my perspective. I take it seriously now with great interest after knowing the directions to improve my skills.

I honestly enjoyed the hands-on learning experience of reading articles in class, open discussions and impromptu presentations done in different ways. These activities truly helped me in speed reading, enhanced my thinking and organised my speech well in the shortest time in order to deliver information smoothly to my fellow classmates. All of these were fun and at the same time, full of learning values to pick up.

I thank Brad for making us write blog posts. Eventually, blogging become a pleasant habit for me to practice putting my thoughts into words. Also, I enjoy learning from the writings of others to see things from different perspectives. Critiquing my classmates’ entries also taught me to be more objective when making judgment as well as learn to feedback in the appropriate ways. These are definitely helpful in my future role at workplace.

Additionally, I found the concept of Johari’s window very interesting as I reflect on my own windows. From there, I realize the importance of illustrating and improving self-awareness as well as mutual understanding between individuals within a group. As I am determined to work in the dynamic hospitality industry, people relations are important and hence, knowing myself and others well will be the key to have good relationships at work.

I remember claiming presentations as one of my communication weaknesses in the beginning of the module. I did gain more confidence in speaking to audience along the learning journey of CPD 2, and even started to enjoy doing it. In short, I am glad that I have taken away many priceless values from this class that will help me go far in the future. Thank you Brad for your efforts in conducting a wonderful class for us :O)

One thought on “My CPD Critical Reflection

  1. Dear Eon,

    Thank you for this personalised and comprehensive reflection on the CPDII module. I’m glad you found so much of it to be useful and that overall the tasks and activities proved to be a rewarding learning experience for you.

    As I read your thoughts, it occurred to me that you seem to see the direct connection between what we were doing in class and the needs that you will have as a person in a people-centered industry. Thanks for recognising that link. I am certain you can transfer some of the skills and know-how learned or polished in CPDII to your future study and work, and yes, life in general.

    Finally, Eon, I have appreciated your many contributions during the term, from in-class role plays and the impromptu speech and sharing to your excellent project work. It was always fun chatting with you before class since you regularly showed up early and exuded a very positive motivation for learning.

    All the best as you continue your learning journey!

    Brad

    Like

Leave a Reply

